The Willamette Heritage Center was created by the amalgamation of two structures: the Mill Mission Museum and the Marion County Historical Society. The Willamette Heritage Center is located in a former textile factory that was built in 1889. The fire of 1895 destroyed the wooden buildings, but already in 1896, a new brick building was built, which still stands today.
The complex of historic buildings
In addition to the factory building, several red brick buildings, a small power station, a residential building — all of this together is located on the banks of the Mill Creek River. These buildings reproduce the historical picture of the life of the factory and the people who work there, from the end of the 19th to the middle of the 20th century.
From a factory to a museum
The factory operated until 1959. The museum was opened five years after the closure of the factory. Today, the complex of buildings on 5 acres of land combines past and present with informative displays and unique exhibits. It is also important to know that the Willamette Heritage Center is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Please visit the business of one of our regular supporters..
1313 Mill St SE, Salem, OR 97301